About The Index

As India strives to recover from the havoc wreaked by the COVID-19 pandemic, the need to propel economic recovery through the most energy-efficient pathways, considering the detrimental impacts of climate change on human health and well-being, emerges.

Energy efficiency is central to India’s Sustainable Development Goal (SDG) 7 (Affordable and Clean Energy), 12 (Responsible Consumption and Production), and 13 (Climate Action). India’s Nationally Determined Contributions (NDC) target on emission intensity can be easily achieved if the economic recovery is fuelled by incorporating energy-efficient products and services i.e., energy-efficient consumer durables, energy-efficient industrial practices, electric vehicles, sustainable cold-chain for agriculture and, Energy Conservation Building Code (ECBC)-compliant construction.

Each state and union territory (UT) must commit to a green recovery path best suited to and aligned with the state/UT’s own socio-economic development goals. The State Designated Agency (SDA) established in each state/UT, under the Energy Conservation Act 2001 (EC Act), has been empowered by the EC Act to coordinate, regulate, and enforce provisions of the EC Act within the state/UT.

State Energy Efficiency Index 2020

The State Energy Efficiency Index 2020 has been jointly developed by the Bureau of Energy Efficiency (BEE) and Alliance for an Energy Efficient Economy (AEEE).

The State Energy Efficiency Index 2020 assesses the performance of the 36 states and UTs in energy efficiency using 68 qualitative, quantitative, and outcome-based indicators, across six sectors, namely, Buildings, Industry, Municipalities, Transport, Agriculture & DISCOMs and Cross Sector. The maximum score for the State Energy Efficiency Index 2020 is 100.

The first such Index, State Energy Efficiency Preparedness Index 2018, was launched on 1 August 2018. This was followed by its 2nd edition, State Energy Efficiency Index 2019, which was launched by Shri Raj Kumar Singh, Honourable Minister of Power and Honourable Minister of New and Renewable Energy on 10 January 2020.

* Response of 22 out of 36 SDAs to a survey conducted on State Energy Efficiency Index 2019 in July 2020